Tag: who has lost the most afl grand finals

Who Has Won the Most AFL Premierships

Who Has Won the Most AFL Premierships

Hawthorn Football Club has won the most AFL premierships, with a total of 13 titles. Established in 1902, Hawthorn has been a dominant force in Australian Rules Football, winning premierships in 1961, 1971, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991, 2008, 2013, 2014, and 2015.


The club’s success can be attributed to its strong culture, talented players, and successful coaching strategies. Throughout its history, Hawthorn has consistently been a powerhouse in the AFL, earning a reputation for excellence and a dedication to success on the field.  

Who Has Won the Most AFL Premierships  

With such an impressive track record, Hawthorn stands as the most successful club in AFL history.


History Of Afl Grand Final Victories

The Australian Football League (AFL) has a rich history of premiership wins, with certain teams dominating the competition. The evolution of AFL has also shaped the history of grand final victories.

Early Championships and their Winners The AFL’s early years saw a number of teams achieve repeated success in the grand final. Teams like the Melbourne Demons, who won 12 premierships between 1900 and 1964, and the Carlton Blues, who won 16 premierships between 1906 and 1995, established themselves as powerhouses of the game.
The Creation of the AFL Grand Final The AFL Grand Final as we know it today began in 1990 with the formation of the national competition. Previously, the Victorian Football League (VFL) held the prestigious grand final. Since then, the AFL Grand Final has become one of the most-watched sporting events in Australia, capturing the attention of fans across the country.

Today, the competition for AFL premierships remains fierce, with teams like the Richmond Tigers and the Hawthorn Hawks making their mark in recent years. The history of grand final victories serves as a testament to the legacy and success of teams in the AFL, showcasing the skill and determination required to be crowned champions.

Afl Clubs With Multiple Premiership Titles

The team with the most AFL premierships has dominated the league throughout its history. Their success is undoubtedly unmatched, making them a force to be reckoned with in Australian football.

Origins and History of the AFL

The origins of the AFL can be traced back to the late 19th century when football clubs started forming across Australia. The Australian Football League (AFL) was officially established in 1897 as the Victorian Football League (VFL) and had only eight teams based in Victoria. Over the years, the league expanded its reach beyond Victoria, with clubs from other states joining the competition. Here are some key points about the origins and history of the AFL:

Carlton Football Club – The Dominant Force

Carlton Football Club has established itself as one of the most successful teams in AFL history. With a record 16 premiership titles, they have been a dominant force throughout the league’s existence. The Blues have consistently showcased their strength and skill, becoming a formidable opponent for any team.

Collingwood Football Club – A Legacy Of Success

Collingwood Football Club has a rich history of success, having won 15 premiership titles. The Magpies have consistently been a top contender, with a strong commitment to excellence. Their legacy is built upon a strong team culture and a dedication to achieving greatness.

Essendon Football Club – Triumphs And Challenges

Essendon Football Club has had its fair share of triumphs and challenges throughout its history. With 16 premiership titles, the Bombers have experienced both glory and setbacks. Despite facing various obstacles, the club has always demonstrated resilience and determination to remain a competitive force in the league.

Hawthorn Football Club – Building A Dynasty

Hawthorn Football Club has established itself as one of the most successful teams in recent years. With 13 premiership titles, the Hawks have built a dynasty, showcasing their ability to consistently perform under pressure. Their commitment to a strong team culture and strategic game plans has made them a force to be reckoned with.

Richmond Football Club – Recent Golden Era

Richmond Football Club has experienced a recent golden era, winning three premiership titles in a short span of time. The Tigers’ success can be attributed to their strong team cohesion and a relentless pursuit of excellence. They have set a high standard for themselves, becoming a prominent force in the AFL.

West Coast Eagles – Western Excellence

West Coast Eagles have made their mark in the AFL, winning four premiership titles. The team has consistently showcased excellence in the Western region, becoming a source of pride for their fans. The Eagles’ success is a testament to their dedication, skill, and determination to achieve greatness.

Analyzing Afl Grand Final Wins By Decades

The AFL has a rich history of grand final wins, with different teams dominating each decade. In the 1960s, it was the era of the Swinging Sixties and although it saw some fierce competition, no team consistently dominated. The 1970s belonged to Carlton, who emerged as the team to beat, enjoying multiple wins and establishing their dominance. The 1980s witnessed Hawthorn’s ascendancy, as they clinched multiple grand final wins and became a force to be reckoned with. The 1990s belonged to North Melbourne, who had a highly successful decade, winning several premierships. The 2000s saw Brisbane emerge as the team of the decade with their triple premiership success, a remarkable achievement in itself. In the 2010s, Hawthorn continued their dominance, establishing a modern dynasty and further solidifying their place in AFL history. As we enter the 2020s, the pursuit of glory remains intense as teams battle it out for premiership success. Each decade has its own unique stories, heroes, and moments that have shaped the AFL and captivated fans.


Frequently Asked Questions Of Who Has Won The Most Afl Premierships


Who Has Won The Most Afl Premierships?


The Essendon Football Club holds the record for the most AFL premierships, winning a total of 16 grand finals. With their success spanning from the 1890s to the 2000s, Essendon remains a dominant force in Australian rules football history.


Which Afl Team Has Won The Second Most Premierships?


The Carlton Football Club is the second most successful AFL team, having won 16 premierships. With a rich history dating back to the early days of the game, Carlton has consistently been a force to be reckoned with in Australian rules football.


Are There Any Teams Close To Catching Up To Essendon In Premiership Wins?


While Essendon holds the record for the most AFL premierships, the Hawthorn Football Club is not far behind with 13 grand final wins. With a strong team and a winning culture, Hawthorn has the potential to challenge Essendon’s record in the future.


Others want to know
Which AFL team has won the most Premier?
What team has the most wins in AFL history?
Which coach has the most AFL premierships won?
What is the biggest losing margin in AFL Grand Final?




Ultimately, the team with the most AFL premierships can boast a truly remarkable achievement. Richmond Football Club currently holds the prestigious title, with an impressive tally of 13 premierships. Their consistent success and strong culture have secured their position as one of the greatest teams in AFL history.


Whether you are a die-hard supporter or simply appreciate the beauty of the game, it’s hard not to be impressed by the legacy of Richmond Football Club in the AFL.