SportsTop Stories

Man United, Liverpool, And Leicester City Are The Biggest Winners In Premier League History

Man United, Liverpool The Biggest Winners EPL

Man United, Liverpool, And Leicester City Are The Biggest Winners In Premier League History.

The Biggest Winners In Premier League History
The Biggest Winners In Premier League History

Manchester United, Leicester City, and Liverpool are the biggest winners in the history of the Premier League.

The three teams achieved stunning 9-0 victories over their opponents, with Liverpool being the last club in the elite category of big winners.

Before Bournemouth’s nine-goal defeat to Liverpool in the Premier League return leg on 27 August 2022, Manchester United and Leicester City were the only two teams with the largest margins of victory.

Manchester United achieved the feat twice against Ipswich and Southampton in the 1994/95 season and 2020/2021 season respectively.

And Southampton is the first team to lose twice by a large margin, while Manchester United is the first team to win 9-0 twice.

Leicester City joined Manchester United in the elite circle of the big winners of the 2019/2022 football season when they thrashed Southampton 9-0 away. Liverpool has now joined the duo after a huge win on 27 August 2022 against Bournemouth.

Man United 9-0 Ipswich (1994/95)


Manchester United scored 9 goals against Ipswich in the 1994-1995 football season. Legendary manager Sir Alex Ferguson was in charge of the team. The Red Devils entered the game as they won the English Premier League title in 1993/95.

It was a decisive encounter as Alex Ferguson sought to capture Blackburn Rovers, who were leading the league by 3 points.

On the other hand, Ipswich was wrestling with relegation after narrowly surviving the 1993/94 season with just one point behind relegation.

Graham Ball was the referee, and the match started at Old Trafford with over 43,000 spectators.

Before the match, the stats favored the Red Devils. They met the club 50 times and won 24, while Ipswich won 18 matches. 8 matches ended in a draw.

The ball was fixed, but it was wandering. Cole and Roy Keane scored in the first half to give Manchester United a 3-0 lead in the first half, and Cole scored twice.

All six remaining goals came in the second half. Cole went wild again. Cole shot Grid three times; Hughes scored two goals, while Paul Innes scored a free kick to sink the visitors.

Despite the convincing win, Ferguson lost the Premier League title to Blackburn Rovers by just one point, while Ipswich was relegated.

Southampton 0-9 Leicester (2019/20)

On Friday, October 25, 2019, no expert saw him coming there in St. Mary’s. Although Southampton had a string of poor results, the 0-9 loss to the Foxes was impressive.

Leicester City came third in the table with 17 points, while its host was 17th with 8 points.

Andre Mariner blew the opening whistle. Chilwell gave the visitors an early lead in the tenth minute. Before the 20th minute, Tillmans and Perez made the score 3-0. Perez scored again to make it two goals in the first half. Vardy added even before the break. The 2016 champion only took a 5-0 lead in the first half. Southampton was reduced to ten players after Ryan Bertrand was sent off.

Perez, Vardy, and Madison scored in the second half to make it 9-0. Both Perez and Vardy scored a hat-trick in the match. Leicester moved up to second in the standings, while Southampton dropped to 18th after the match.

Manchester United 9-0 Southampton (2020/21)

Southampton became the first Premier League team to lose 9 goals in two consecutive seasons. This time it was at Old Trafford. The match took place on February 2, 2021.

Southampton midfielder Jankovic? was sent off just two minutes before the end of the match, giving the Red Devils an advantage. Seven different players got their names on the scoresheet – Aaron Wan Peak, Rashford, Cavani and Jan Bednarek’s goal made it 4-0 at halftime for Manchester United.

Martial, McTominay, Bruno Fernandes, and Daniel James scored the score 9-0, and Martial scored two goals.

Manchester United temporarily equaled Manchester City with 44 points, with only a goal difference between the two sides

Liverpool 9-0 Bournemouth (2022/23)

Bournemouth became the third team in the Premier League to lose 9 goals after Ipswich and Southampton.

Liverpool also started as the third team in the Premier League to win 9 goals after three matches without a win in the Premier League.

Luis Diaz and Harvey Elliott scored within six minutes of the match. Arnold, Firmino, and Van Dijk made it 5-0 in the first half.

Firmino and Diaz completed the duo in the second half. Carvalho also scored a goal while Chris Maffem scored an own goal to defeat the newly promoted team.
Jurgen Klopp described the win as “the era of perfect football”.

Liverpool has been without a win in three consecutive Premier League matches. They drew 2-2 with Fulham, 1-1 with Crystal Palace, and lost 2-1 against Manchester United. 9-0 at Bournemouth was the perfect way to announce the Reds’ comeback.

There have been only 7 different Premier League winners in the Premier League era. Apart from Manchester United, the six other clubs that have won the title in the Premier League era are Chelsea, Manchester City, Arsenal, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City, and Liverpool.

People also ask
Who has won the most Premier League titles in history?
Who are the 7 Premier League winners?
Who won the first EPL?


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button